Other Options

President of the Ulster Branch, John McKibbin, was in attendance at Hatrick Park where Rainey Old Boys held their Club Dinner & Awards function last Friday evening.  Mick Quinn,widely regarded as one of the best After Dinner Speakers on the circuit, was making his third appearance at the club and he did not disappoint.  He is renowned for his charity work and brought an Old Ireland XV to Rainey almost thirty years ago for the Robert Glover Memorial Match.  On behalf of the club, Dylan Davies entertained the crowd in his inimitable way with some of his witty observations on present day rugby and on life in general before proposing a toast to the guests and visitors.


The Player of the Year award went to former Ulster, Castres and Glasgow second-row Tim Barker, whose experience and quality shone through as Rainey worked their way out of a mid-season slump to claim promotion via the play-offs.  The Young Player award was won by prop Tommy O'Hagan,who made such an impression at the Ulster Academy that he was called on several times by the Ulster "A" selectors.  Fintan Quinn was chosen as the Most Improved Young Forward, doing very well when thrown in at the deep end in mid-season.  Philip McCusker had a remarkable season.  After only a handful of starts for the Seconds, he was given an outing at a higher level and never looked back.  He was the obvious choice for the Improved Back award.  Mattie Miller picked up the 2nd XV award, receiving a lot of praise for his attitude and commitment, while hooker Michael Caithness,who is heading to Canada shortly, was presented with a memento of his time at the club.  Dr Paddy Pyper received the Janet Mc Falone Salver for his overall contribution to the club and Davy Young took the Clubman of the Year trophy.  Davy does a tremendous job as Treasurer while working away behind the scenes with the underage teams.  MC for  the evening was Arnold McLean.

Following the club AGM, John Overend assumes the role of President, with Arnold McLean as Vice-President.  Sean Dillon will be assisting Ian Gillespie as Assistant Secretary.  On the playing side, Damien McMurray will be next season's 1st XV captain, while Aidan McSwiggan will captain the U20 side.  Good luck to all for their year in office.

Match sponsors of the ROBRFC AIL game against Midleton were John and  Niall O'Brien of O'Brien's Pharmacy, Broad Street, Magherafelt and Coagh, along with Club President Brian Wilson.

Match Sponsor of the recent UBL game between Rainey OB and Bruff was Bank of Ireland.  Pictured are Tommy O'Hagan (Rainey OB & Ulster 'A'), Alastair Kane (Senior Business Centre Manager), Claire McCosker, Chantelle Nelson (Mortgage Advisor) , Roisin Heggarty and Oliver McShane.

The Match Ball Sponsor of the recent UBL game between Rainey OB and Bruff was Brian McNulty of McNulty's Real Fish and Chips, Limavady along with Tommy O'Hagan and Arnold McLean